Scottish Kinship Care Alliance

Welcome to the Scottish Kinship Care Alliance

Leave a comment

We are the national network of Kinship Care groups across Scotland. We are a grassroots organisation run by Kinship Carers, formed to campaign for basic rights and justice for the vulnerable children in our care. To find out about our plight look at About Kinship and Our Stories. Read Justice for Kinship Kids for information on our long running campaign and demands for equality, and read relevant news here on the front page. To find out about Kinship Care support groups or support our campaign please Contact us.

Author: murraywason

Murray Wason Biog: Hello, I am an artist, performance-maker and educator. I am currently a visiting lecturer at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland working with BA Contemporary Performance Practice students to realize large-scale socially engaged drama projects including 100 Little Pennies in collaboration with Off the Rails Contemporary Arts. This area of my practice has grown out of applying drama and performance making to varied social and political contexts. In my education practice I work at all levels and ages, and I have a particular interest in teaching creatively. I have recently been working with adult learners in English literacy sessions in North Glasgow. This work attempts to incorporate new technologies to aid learning and increase access to online resources through creative writing and blogging. I frequently collaborate with other performance-makers in ensemble creative processes and, through devising, create moments and images for live performances and events. I recently devised and performed in Wuthering Heights with Peter McMaster, which is a recipient of the Arches Platform 18 award and will be performed in The Arches, Glasgow and Traverse, Edinburgh this Spring. I have previously worked with Nic Green, Tim Crouch, Lieux Publics, Fish and Game, Mischief La-Bas, Grace Surman, Adrian Howells and Glas(s) Performance. Recently I have been developing a practice as a filmmaker, working with climate activists on a series of documentaries focused on the aviation industry and also with Queens Cross Housing Association in Glasgow on a film with their elder residents. My current research into human relationships with technology has led me to create a series of performances based around notions of masculinity involving elements of ritual, high-energy movement, original texts and film. The resulting solo performance series Automaton is an examination of the human relationship to robots and technology. As an artist I believe in live performance and creative approaches to education as ways of engaging in a deep connection with people and place.

Leave a comment